Nebraska Department of Environment & Energy< logo

Nebraska Department of Environment & Energy

Air, Land & Energy

Energy & Assistance Division

1.5% NPPD Dollar & Energy Saving Loans

Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy

P.O. Box 98922|Lincoln, NE 68509

Phone (402) 471-2186|Toll Free (877) 253-2603

Loans for Heat Pumps and More...

These NPPD Customers are Eligible for 1.5% Interest Loans

Beginning March 31, 2014, 1.5% Dollar and Energy Saving Loans will be made available to customers in the Nebraska Public Power District’s service areas who are Nebraska residents and will be making the qualifying improvements on property located in Nebraska.

Customers may apply for a 1.5% Dollar and Energy Saving Loan through Nebraska lenders for air source and ground water or ground coupled heat pumps.

  • Qualifying thermostats and back-up natural gas or propane furnaces with a 95 AFUE rating or higher may be included in the project costs.
  • Standards for the heat pumps, programmable thermostats and back-up natural gas or propane furnaces are the same as those listed on the loan program’s Heating, Cooling and Water Heating Projects Application (Form 3).

This same form is to be used in submitting a borrower’s application to the Energy Office for one of the 1.5% Dollar and Energy Saving Loans. The entire process for obtaining one of these loans is identical to the existing Dollar and Energy Saving Loans and all requirements relating to terms, fees, borrower maximums, emergency approvals and collection procedures will be the same.

The 1.5% Dollar and Energy Saving Loans are being made possible through the Nebraska Public Power District’s EnergyWiseTM Incentives & Rebates.

This program is infusing dollars into the Energy Office’s loan program to provide the funds to purchase an additional 35% of a qualifying loan from the lender. This will allow the Energy Office to purchase 85% of the qualifying loan at zero interest while allowing lenders to still realize a 10% return on the remaining 15% of the loan they hold.

Therefore, 15% of the 1.5% Dollar and Energy Saving Loans made in conjunction with the Nebraska Public Power District’s EnergyWiseTM Incentives & Rebates will be held by the lender and 85% by the Energy Office.

Customers choosing the 1.5% interest loan waive the right for receiving an EnergyWiseTM heat pump incentive from their utility.

The Energy Office and the Nebraska Public Power District, in partnership with its wholesale and utility customers, hope these lower interest rate heat pump loans will be beneficial to borrowers seeking to be more efficient in their energy use.

Cities & Utilities

In addition to NPPD’s retail customers (those who pay NPPD directly for their electricity) a number of cities and utilities are “wholesale” customers and those who receive their electricity from these sources are also eligible for the NPPD 1.5% heat pump loans. Those “wholesale” cities and utilities are:

  • Arapahoe, City of
  • Auburn Board of Public Works
  • Bartley, Village of
  • Battle Creek, City of
  • Beatrice Board of Public Works
  • Bradshaw, Village of
  • Brainard, Village of
  • Burt County Public Power District
  • Butler Public Power District
  • Cambridge, City of
  • Campbell, Village of
  • Cedar-Knox Public Power District
  • Central City, City of
  • Chester, Village of
  • Clarks, Village of
  • Clarkson, City of
  • Cornhusker Public Power District
  • Cozad, City of
  • Cuming County Public Power District
  • Custer Public Power District
  • Davenport, Village of
  • David City, City of
  • Dawson Public Power District
  • Decatur, Village of
  • Deshler, City of
  • DeWitt, Village of
  • Dorchester, Village of
  • Edgar, City of
  • Elkhorn Rural Public Power District
  • Emerson, Village of
  • Fairmont, Village of
  • Filley, Village of
  • Franklin, City of
  • Friend, City of
  • Giltner, Village of
  • Gothenburg, City of
  • Hampton, Village of
  • Hebron, City of
  • Hemingford, Village of
  • Hickman, City of
  • Hildreth, Village of
  • Holdrege, City of
  • Howard Greeley Public Power District
  • Hubbell, Village of
  • KBR Rural Public Power District
  • Laurel, City of
  • Leigh, Village of
  • Lexington, City of
  • Lodgepole, Village of
  • Loup Power District
  • Loup Valleys Rural Public Power District
  • Lyons, City of
  • Madison, City of
  • McCook Public Power District
  • Minden, City of
  • Mullen, Village of
  • Nebraska Public Power District
  • Nelson, City of
  • Niobrara Valley Electric Membership Corp
  • Norris Public Power District
  • North Central Public Power District
  • North Platte, City of
  • Northeast Nebraska Public Power District
  • Obert, Village of
  • Ord, City of
  • Panama, Village of
  • Perennial Public Power District
  • Polk County Rural Public Power District
  • Polk, Village of
  • Prague, Village of
  • Randolph, City of
  • Sargent, City of
  • Schuyler, City of
  • Scribner, City of
  • Seward County Public Power District
  • Seward, City of
  • South Central Public Power District
  • South Sioux City, City of
  • Southern Power District
  • Southwest Public Power District
  • St. Paul, City of
  • Stanton County Public Power District
  • Stratton, Village of
  • Stromsburg, City of
  • Summerfield, Village of
  • Superior, City of
  • Sutton, City of
  • Twin Valleys Public Power District
  • Valentine, City of
  • Wahoo Board of Public Works
  • Wakefield, City of
  • Walthill, Village of
  • Wauneta, Village of
  • Wayne, City of
  • Wilber, City of
  • Wilcox, Village of
  • Wymore, City of