Three Honored…
Nebraskans Receive National Awards
In June, three Nebraskans with decades of service to the electric industry were honored by a national public power organization.
The 2,000 member American Public Power Association singled out these Nebraskans for special merit:
  • Michael Lucas, utility superintendent in Broken Bow, was one of ten managers to receive the Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award. At the utility, he supervises 13 field staff in electric, water and sewer. He also works on local development issues. Among the organizations he serves on for Broken Bow: NMPP Energy, Nebraska League of Municipalities, Municipal Energy Agency of Nebraska, and the county economic development agency.

  • Bill Mayben, President and Chief Executive Officer of Nebraska Public Power District,was one of three people to receive the James D. Donovan Individual Achievement Award. Since 1995, Mayben has served on the American Public Power Association's board of directors and various committees as well as the Large Public Power Council. He has testified before Congress explaining complicated electricity issues and has worked to educate congressional members, staff and regulators on the issues.

  • Ralph Johnson, Nebraska Public Power District Board Member, was one of four to receive the Spence Vanderlinden Public Official Award. Johnson is a long-time consumer and public power advocate who believes public power has a responsibility to serve as a model for fair pricing in a competitive market. In addition to completing a third six-year term on the board, Johnson has served on several American Public Power Association committees.

The three were recognized at the organization's annual meeting in Dallas.

    Home    Energy Loans    Energy Statistics        State of Nebraska Home    Disclaimer    Webmaster